Pupils

Are you interested in math, computer science, or physics and want to catch a glimpse into the daily routine of a researcher?  Come and visit us at our various activities for young researchers.

Events & Internships

© Photo Kompetenzzentrum Technik-Diversity-Chancengleichheit e.V.
Girls' Day 2016 Fraunhofer MEVIS
© Photo Fraunhofer MEVIS

Have you ever asked yourself how clinicians can make a certain diagnose? How is the clinician concerned with PCs?

A lot! Probably more than you could ever imagine.

At our Girls' Day, you will learn from researchers of the Fraunhofer MEVIS institute how medical images are generated and how these are transferred to the PC. Furthermore, we would like to explore the cognition of colors and contrasts of the human eye and investigate how this can be influenced. You will learn interactively how images are displayed in the computer and how they can be analyzed with respect to certain diseases.

For Whom?
When? Further Information/Application
For girls from the 7th grade 27.04.2017 www.girls-day.de

 

 

Talent School MR Scanner
© Photo Fraunhofer MEVIS
Fraunhofer Talent School Autumn Internship 2014
© Photo Fraunhofer MEVIS

The Fraunhofer Talent School is an event for pupils from 10th grade until the Abitur who are talented and interested in technology. In various three-day workshops in the autumn holidays, they gain theoretical and practical insight into ongoing scientific problems and develop solutions.

In addition, we provide the possibility to discuss the daily work of a researcher as well as national and international academic activities with Fraunhofer employees.

Fraunhofer MEVIS offers a workshop called "Where is the tumor and how do I get there? - From imaging to therapy" where the pupils learn about imaging using MRI (magnetic resonance imaging) as well as the subsequent image processing and analysis. The images acquired in the beginning of the workshop will be examined afterwards. Together, we will develop methods which can be used to detect and measure abnormalities in MR images. Furthermore, we will see a clinical navigation system in action.

 

 

In 2017, Fraunhofer MEVIS will organize the International Fraunhofer Talent School Bremen for the first time. The International Fraunhofer Talent School Bremen brings together an artist, a group of Fraunhofer MEVIS scientists and pupils from the 7th and 8th degree from Bremen, Linz and Upper Austria in spring and summer 2017.

We developed this program to foster the interplay of science, tech and art and to stimulate critical dialog about, and implementation of new technology within society. The aim is to foster the engagement with and competent ownership of future technology. Pupils will gain insight into new technology and participate in discussions. This program reaches pupils in STEM topics (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics), who are interested in art and raises awareness of the role of math, physics, and information science in health care and life sciences.

For Whom? When? Further Information/Application
For pupils from 10th grade until Abitur n/a Website of Fraunhofer IFAM
For pupils between 7th and 9th grade 28.-29.03.2017 No places left

Children's University 2011
© Photo Christoph Claus, Uni Bremen

Children's University 2011

The Children's University organized by the University of Bremen addresses children in the age of 8 to 12 years. There are lectures from researches every day in the morning as well as workshops in the afternoon where pupils can research by themselves. Every year, Fraunhofer MEVIS participates at the Children's University with lectures on topics like "Make invisible things visible" or "Modeling and simulation, using mathematics and PCs". Furthermore, parents can visit the Fraunhofer MEVIS institute to learn about the research.

 

For Whom? When? Further Information
For children aged 8 to 12 years no MEVIS participation in 2017

University Bremen

Summer Academy
© Photo Fraunhofer MEVIS

Secondary school pupils, interested in research, can participate in the Summer Academy at the University of Bremen. In the first week of the regional summer holidays, they work in different workshops from different research areas. Fraunhofer MEVIS offers a workshop which deals with "Mathematics in medicine" and shows the various capabilities of math in medicine.

For Whom? When? Further Information/Application
For pupils from the upper school 26.-30.6.2017 Universität Bremen

Logo Herbstpraktikum Technologiepark Bremen
© Photo Technologiepark Uni Bremen e.V.

The internship in fall is an event organized by the Technologiepark at University of Bremen that addresses pupils starting from the 9th grade. The internship is taking place in the regional autumn holidays of Bremen and will give insights into the various companies and research institutes in the city. The internship days are starting with talks from all participating companies and institutes so that pupils can learn about the participating institutions. After the talks, the pupils are going to their respective internship location.

For Whom? When? Further Information/Application
For pupils starting at 9th grade 4.-13.10.2017 Technologiepark Bremen

Math Research Day
© Photo Christoph Claus, Uni Bremen

The Math Research Days are an offer of the matelier of University of Bremen. It addresses primary school pupils from 3rd and 4th grade. In the first part of the Research Day, pupils can learn about math. Afterwards, researchers from Fraunhofer MEVIS talk about their daily work and the general role of mathematics in research.

For Whom? When? Further Information/Application
For primary school classes (3rd and 4th grade) during the semester, Wednesday, biweekly Universität Bremen - Matelier

Fraunhofer MEVIS offers individual internships for pupils throughout the whole year. During the internship, interns will get an insight into the research activities and software development of Fraunhofer MEVIS. Independent working, technical interest, and interns' engagement are in the foreground of the internship. If you are interested in an internship at Fraunhofer MEVIS, please send your application documents to pupils@mevis.fraunhofer.de.

Schülerinnen & Schüler

Interessierst du Dich für Mathematik, Informatik und Physik und möchtest einen Einblick in die Forschung bekommen? Dann informiere Dich auf unseren Seiten über unsere verschiedenen Angebote.

Veranstaltungen und Schülerpraktika

© Foto Kompetenzzentrum Technik-Diversity-Chancengleichheit e.V.
Girls' Day 2016 Fraunhofer MEVIS
© Foto

Hast du dich schon immer gefragt, wie eigentlich die Mediziner bestimmte Krankheiten feststellen können? Was hat denn überhaupt ein Mediziner mit Computern zu tun? 
 
Sehr viel! Wahrscheinlich sogar sehr viel mehr als ihr bisher glaubt.

Beim Girls'Day erklären dir Forscherinnen und Forscher des Fraunhofer MEVIS-Instituts, wie medizinische Bilder überhaupt entstehen und wie diese in den Computer kommen. Außerdem möchten wir mit euch die Wahrnehmung von Farben und Kontrasten durch das menschliche Auge erkunden und erforschen, wie diese beeinflusst werden kann. Interaktiv lernst du, wie Bilder im Computer dargestellt werden und wie man sie im Hinblick auf bestimmte Erkrankungen analysieren kann.

Für Wen?
Wann? Weitere INformationen/Anmeldung
Für Mädchen ab der 7. Klasse 27.04.2017 www.girls-day.de

 

 

Talent School MR Scanner
© Foto Fraunhofer MEVIS

© Foto Fraunhofer MEVIS

Die Fraunhofer-Talent-School ist ein Programm für talentierte und technisch interessierte Jugendliche ab der 10. Klasse bis zum Abitur. Sie setzen sich in verschiedenen dreitägigen Workshops in den Herbstferien intensiv mit aktuellen wissenschaftlichen Problemstellungen in Theorie und Praxis auseinander und entwickeln Lösungen.

Zusätzlich geben Gespräche mit Fraunhofer-Führungskräften Einblicke in den Alltag der Forscherinnen und Forscher sowie in den nationalen und internationalen Wissenschaftsbetrieb.

In dem von Fraunhofer MEVIS angebotenen Workshop „Wo ist der Tumor und wie komme ich dahin? – Von der Bildgebung zur Therapie“ werden Forscherinnen und Forscher einen  Einblick in die Bildgebung mit MRT (Magnetresonanztomographie) geben sowie in die daran anschließende Bildverarbeitung  und  -analyse.  Die  am  Anfang  des Workshops im  MRT erzeugten Bilder  werden  am  Computer  weiter  untersucht.  Gemeinsam werden Methoden entwickeln, mit denen man Auffälligkeiten in MRT-Bildern entdecken und vermessen kann, und wir werden ein medizinisches Navigationssystem in Aktion sehen.

 

2017 wird Fraunhofer MEVIS erstmals eine Internationale Fraunhofer Talent School Bremen veranstalten. Wissenschaftler von Fraunhofer MEVIS, eine Künstlerin und Schüler der 7ten und 8ten Klasse aus Bremen, Linz und Oberösterreich werden im Frühjahr 2017 kreativ zusammen arbeiten.

Wir haben dieses Programm entwickelt, um das Zusammenspiel von Wissenschaft, Technik und Kunst zu stärken und den kritischen Dialog über den Einsatz neuer Technologien in der Gesellschaft zu fördern. Ziel ist es das Engagement im Umgang mit und die Beteiligung an zukünftigen Technologien zu stärken. Die Schüler werden Einblicke in neue Technologien gewinnen und an Diskussionen teilnehmen. Dieses Programm erreicht Schüler, die sich für Kunst interessieren, mit MINT-Themen und schärft das Bewusstsein für die Rolle von Mathematik, Physik und Informatik im Gesundheitswesen und in den Biowissenschaften.

 

Zusammenfassung der Evaluation des STEAM Workshops [ PDF  0,06 MB ]

 

FÜR wEN? Wann? Weitere Informationen/Anmeldung
Für Jugendliche ab der 10. Klasse bis zum Abitur findet in 2017 nicht statt
 
Schüler der 7. bis 9. Klasse
28.-29.03.2017 ausgebucht

Kinderuni 2011
© Foto Christoph Claus, Uni Bremen

Kinderuni 2011

Die Kinder-Uni der Universität Bremen richtet sich an Kinder zwischen 8 und 12 Jahren und bietet ihnen Einblicke in die Arbeit von Wissenschaftlern. Vormittags halten Wissenschaftler und Wissenschaftlerinnen Vorlesungen und am Nachmittag können die Kinder selbst zu bestimmten Themen forschen. Fraunhofer MEVIS beteiligt sich unregelmäßig bei der Kinder-Uni zum Beispiel mit Vorlesungen zum Thema "Unischtbares sichtbar machen" oder "Modellieren und simulieren mit Mathematik und Computern". Weiterhin gibt es für Eltern die Möglichkeit, das Fraunhofer MEVIS im Rahmen eines Besuches kennenzulernen.

Für Wen? Wann? Weitere INformationen
Für Kinder von 8-12 Jahren keine MEVIS Teilnahme in 2017 University Bremen

 

Sommerakademie
© Foto

An der Sommerakademie der Universität Bremen können forschungsinteressierte Schülerinnen und Schüler der gymnasialen Oberstufe teilnehmen. In der ersten Woche der regionalen Sommerferien forschen diese in unterschiedlichen Workshops aus unterschiedlichen Fachbereichen. Fraunhofer MEVIS bietet einen Workshop zum Thema "Mathematik in der Medizin" an, bei dem die Schülerinnen und Schüler einen Einblick bekommen, wo in der Medizin auch die Mathematik überall zu finden ist.

Für Wen? Wann? Weitere Informationen/Anmeldung
Für Schülerinnen und Schüler der gymnasialen Oberstufe 26.-30.6.2017 Universität Bremen

Logo Herbstpraktikum Technologiepark Bremen
© Foto Technologiepark Uni Bremen e.V.

Das Herbstpraktikum ist eine Veranstaltung des Technologieparks Universität Bremen und richtet sich an Schülerinnen und Schüler ab der 9. Klasse. Das Praktikum findet in den Herbstferien des Landes Bremen statt. Die Schülerinnen und Schüler haben die Möglichkeit, in unterschiedliche teilnehmende Firmen und Institute einen Einblick zu bekommen. Die Praktikumstage beginnen für die Schüler jeweils mit einem gemeinsamen Vortrag der Firmen und Institute, um so auch etwas über die anderen Praktikumsbetrieben zu lernen. Danach gehen die Schülerinnen und Schüler in die Unternehmen, um dort ihr Praktikum zu absolvieren.

Für Wen? Wann? Weitere INformationen/Anmeldung
Für Schülerinnen und Schüler ab der 9. Klasse 4.-13.10.2017 Technologiepark Bremen

Matheforschertag
© Foto Christoph Claus, Uni Bremen

Die Mathe-Forschertage sind ein Angebot des matelier's der Universität Bremen. Es richtet sich an Grundschüler der 3. und 4. Klassen. Im ersten Teil des Forschertages können die Schülerinnen und Schüler selber zum Thema Mathematik forschen. Danach berichten Forschende des Fraunhofer MEVIS über ihre Arbeit und der Rolle der Mathematik in der Forschung.

Für Wen? Wann? Weitere Informationen/Anmeldung
Für Grundschulklassen (3. und 4. Klasse) in der Vorlesungszeit mittwochs zweiwöchentlich Universität Bremen - Matelier

Fraunhofer MEVIS bietet das ganze Jahr über individuelle Schülerpraktikastellen an. Während des Praktikums wird ein Einblick in die Forschung und Softwareentwicklung bei Fraunhofer MEVIS gegeben. Selbstständiges Arbeiten, fachliches Interesse und Engagement der Praktikanten stehen hierbei im Vordergrund. Wenn du dich für ein Praktikum interessierst, sende deine vollständigen Bewerbungsunterlagen an pupils@mevis.fraunhofer.de.