Advisory Board

The Advisory Board counsels and supports the management board of Fraunhofer MEVIS and helps to forge contacts with industry and related organizations. It currently has the following members:


Prof. Dr. Hans Maier (Chair)

Prof. Dr. med. Mathias Prokop (Co-Chair)

Prof. Dr. Hans Maier
Bayer Schering Pharma AG (formerly)

Stefan Widensohler
KRAUTH Invest GmbH & Co. KG

Prof. Dr. med. Ruth Knüchel-Clarke
Institute of Pathology
University Hospital of RWTH Aachen

Prof. Dr. med. Mathias Prokop
Radboud University Medical Centre

Dr. Enno Aljets
The Senator for Science and Ports

Dr. Bernd Roß
Ministry of Education, Science and Culture
Schleswig-Holstein, Kiel

Prof. Dr. Jens Falta
Institute of Solid State Physics
University of Bremen

Prof. Dr. Kerstin Schill
Faculty of Mathematics & Computer Science, University of Bremen
Hanse-Wissenschaftskolleg, Delmenhorst

Dr. Alexander Ziegler-Jöns
Science & Technology Transfer
Jacobs University Bremen

Former members of the Fraunhofer MEVIS Advisory Board (Kuratorium) since the institute‘s integration into the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft on January 1, 2009:

Prof. Dr. med. Hans-Peter Bruch (2009-2013)

Prof. Dr. med. Jörg F. Debatin (2014-2017)

PD Dr. Carl J.G. Evertsz (2009-2011)

Prof. Dr. Craig Garner (2017-2020)

Dr. Bernd Gewiese (2009-2017)

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Jürgen Hennig (2009-2021)

Dipl.-Phys. Dr. Rainer Jansen (2009-2013)

Prof. Dr. Willi A. Kalender, Ph.D. (2009-2015)

Prof. Dr. med. Fabian Kießling (2017-2018)

Prof. Ron Kikinis, M.D. (2009-2013)

Marcus Kirchhoff (2012-2018)

Prof. Dr. med. Klaus Jochen Klose (2009-2013)

Stefan Lemke (2011)

Astrid Lurati (2018-2021)

Dr. Steffen Lüsse (2012-2017)

Walter Märzendorfer (2009-2021)

PD Dr. med. Christian Meisel (2016-2019)

Dr. Ursula Niebling (2009-2021)

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Erich R. Reinhardt (2009-2013, Chair)

Prof. Dr. med. Maximilian Reiser (2009-2013)

Prof. Dr. med. Dipl.-Phys. Heinz-Peter Schlemmer (2010-2017)

Dr. Ralf Schumacher (2014-2016)

Prof. Dr. med. Ulrich Sure (2009-2018)

Prof. Dr. Gábor Székely (2009-2021, Chair from 2014 to 2018)

Dr. Christoph Zindel (2019 to 2021)

In the period between its foundation as a non-profit research center at the University of Bremen in August 1995 and its integration into the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft at the turn of the year 2008/2009, the then MeVis Research gGmbH was advised by a Scientific Advisory Board (Wissenschaftlicher Beirat) consisting of the following persons:

Prof. Dr. med. Klaus Jochen Klose (Chair)

Prof. Dr. Josef Binder

Heinz-Paul Bonn

Prof. Dr. med. Christoph E. Broelsch

Prof. Dr. med. Claus D. Claussen

Prof. Dr. Kunio Doi

Prof. Dr. Dietrich Götze

Dr. Jan H.C.L. Hendriks

Prof. Dr. Gerhard van Kaick

Prof. Dr. Klaus Kirchgässner

Prof. Dr. Dieter Leibfritz

Prof. Dr. Benoît B. Mandelbrot

Prof. Dr. Werner Martienssen

Prof. Dr. Fridtjof Nüsslin

Gero von Randow

Prof. Dr. Johan H.C. Reiber

Prof. Dr. Dr. med. Wolfhard Semmler

Prof. Dr. med. Georg Strohmeyer

Prof. Dr. Gábor Székely